*NEW* Milani Everyday Eyes Eyeshadow Collection REVIEW

Welcome back! I have been testing out the new Milani Cosmetics Everyday Eyes Eyeshadow Collection and I wanted to give you my thoughts on the product based on:

  1. Wear Time
  2. Pigmentation
  3. Color Selection (within each palette)
  4. Ease of Use (blendability, consistency, user-friendly)
  5. Price (is it worth it?)
I did multiple looks using these palettes and wore them throughout the day. I will be reviewing the “Earthy Elements” and “Vital Brights” palettes. (*** I did not use an eye primer) Here are the different shades within each palette and how I wore them:
1935810_830617083731625_3537876138112579225_n

“Earthy Elements”

20160321_125851.jpg
20160323_095906
Base- golden champagne; shimmer with flecks of glitter
Contour- warm tan; matte
Lid- terracotta orange; matte
Crease- golden bronze; metallic shimmer
Specialty- nude peach; shimmer
Liner- red-toned brown/bronze; metallic shimmer

MY LOOK:

IMG_20160317_205314

“Vital Brights”

20160321_125838
20160323_095815
Base- true white; matte
Contour- baby salmon pink; shimmer
Lid- golden green; sheen
Crease- Crayola blue; matte
Specialty- golden yellow; metallic shimmer
Liner- medium purple; sheen

MY LOOK:

IMG_20160321_104243

1. Wear Time:

“Earthy Elements”

 

20160323_095906

  • This palette wore extremely well throughout the day (both indoors and outdoors).
  • I had to touch up on the “base” shade, but I will talk about this more when I describe pigmentation.
  • Overall I feel this held up very well and lasted all day.

“Vital Brights”

20160323_095815

  • This palette did not wear as well. The “lid” and “liner” creased (may be due to the fact that I did not wear a primer) and were very patchy by the end of the day.
  • The “specialty” shade did not hold up quite as well as I would have liked, but I think it was due to the texture of the shadow, which I will mention later.
  • The “base,” “contour,” and “crease” shades did very well and still looked great by the end of the day

2. Pigmentation:

“Earthy Elements”

20160323_095906

  • The “lid” shade was the most pigmented shade and by far the best shadow in the palette. It is extremely opaque and looked stunning on the eyelid.
  • The “base” shade was the worst. It had little to no pigmentation and was extremely powdery. This shade is practically unusable because it does not show up.
  • The “contour,” “crease,” “specialty,” and “liner” shades were all beautiful and showed up great on the eyes. I was very happy with the color payoff and I used these both wet and dry.

“Vital Brights”

20160323_095815

  • The “crease” shade was the most pigmented and definitely packed a punch. It is extremely opaque and shows up beautifully.
  • The “specialty” shade  was the least pigmented and was quite powdery/chunky. It is still a beautiful shade and I would recommend using it, but I would not suggest putting this shade all over the lid or over a large area of the eye because it was a little flaky and did not show up as well (I used this as a highlight).
  • The “contour” shade is stunning, but just know that this is quite light and does not show true to color (the shade looks a lot darker in the pan).
  • The “base,” “lid,” and “liner” shades were very pigmented, but a little patchy when applied so I would recommend layering up on these shades to avoid gaps and thoroughly blending to avoid eyeshadow skipping.

3. Color Selection:

“Earthy Elements”

20160323_095906

  • I absolutely love the selection of colors, especially the terracotta orange shade, which is why I was so drawn to this palette. I think there is a great selection of matte and simmer shades.
  • I would liked to have seen a darker brown. The “crease” and “liner” shades are pretty similar and when I was applying them to my eyes, there wasn’t a lot of contrast so it was hard to create dimension. You would definitely need to bring in some kind of dark brown or black to create a smokey eye or add more depth.

“Vital Brights”

20160323_095815

  • I picked up this palette because I thought the shades were super fun and would be a nice change.
  • I love the assortment of matte and shimmer shades.
  • I like how all of the shades are not primary like a lot colorful palettes I see. I liked how it incorporates primary and secondary shades.
  • I love the shades next to each other and I think they compliment each other.
  • I feel like it is difficult to just use this palette on its own. It would have been nice to have some sort of peachy shade for the crease or some kind of more neutral shade to bring the whole look together. I like when palettes can be used for an entire eye look because I don’t have to pull out a bunch of other eyeshadows.
  • For everyday wear, I think this palette would be best for very simple looks using the matte shadows for graphic liner or a pop of color OR just a swipe of one of the shimmery shades all over the lid.

4. Ease of Use:

“Eathy Elements”

20160323_095906

  • The shadows were extremely easy to use except for the “base” shade, which I mentioned earlier.
  • The two matte shades (“contour” and “lid”) blended out beautifully.
  • I used the shimmery shades (“crease,” “specialty”, & “liner”) both wet and dry and they worked well both ways.
  • I feel like this palette is pretty mistake-proof.

“Vital Brights”

20160323_095815

  • The “liner” shade was one of the more difficult shades to use because it applied patchy and was extremely powdery.
  • The “crease” shade was the easiest to work with and felt softer, making it easier to blend and manipulate.
  • I would say as a whole, this palette was about medium difficulty to use. It took a lot longer to fully blend out the colors so that there wasn’t any shadow skipping and the eye looked seamless.

5. Price:

I purchased these 2 palettes at CVS for $9.99 each (they were buy one, get one 50% off at the time so about $7.50 each). I think that this is a good price for the “Earthy Elements” palette because it is more wearable and was the better palette of the two. If you can find these on sale, I would definitely wait for a sale, but I think these are a great price for the quality of the shadows.

My Final Thoughts:

I think Milani did a great job with these palettes not only because they performed so well and looked beautiful on the eyes, but also because of the range of shades. There are a lot of drugstore neutral palettes on the market right now and I think the “Earthy Elements” palette was something more unique and outside the box of all of the “Naked” dupes. I would highly recommend these palettes, especially “Earthy Elements” to everyone (if the other two palettes perform as well as the two I have reviewed here). Also, I would like to add that if you have oily eyelids, I would recommend wearing an eyeshadow primer with the “Vital Brights” palette. I experienced creasing throughout the day.

 

Leave a Reply

