Winter fashion: How to style printed leggings

One of my favorite trends this season is the printed legging trend. I love it because it looks super cute, but also because it is so comfortable. There is nothing better than throwing on a pair of leggings and a big sweater and calling it a day. Another great thing about this trend is all you need are basics. The leggings speak for themselves so all you need are a few basics to go with them.

Here I am going to show you how I like to style these super fun, and sometimes crazy leggings. Again, this is just for inspiration so pick and choose pieces depending on your own style!

Black and white:

I love this outfit because it is so comfortable and easy to put together. This outfit is for those days when you are just hanging out with friends, shopping at the mall, lazy days with the boyfriend, or even just hanging around the house.

185351340885872243_QJ3KyPUH_c

For this outfit, I chose a pair of black and white tribal print leggings and paired them with a big, slouchy black sweater. For a more feminine look, I chose a pair of boot wedges that stay true to the winter theme as well as give a new look to an otherwise boring pair of winter boots. I really wanted to show off the print, so I chose short boots that would allow the leggings to be center stage. I chose black and gold accessories that compliment the outfit and don’t overwhelm. For a pop of color, I think a colored handbag is perfect. For makeup, I would go with some simple winged liner and a plummy lip gloss/stain for some extra color. The sweater is so bulky and slouchy so I think the hair should be out of the face and off the neck.

Neutrals:

I love this look because it is so comfortable and slouchy and perfect for a Saturday day out. I also love the subtle military vibe.

185351340885872331_C8TXvZDK_c

For this look I chose a more colorful pair of printed leggings, but toned it down with neutral shades, such as army green, beige, and black. I love pairing slouchy sweaters with skin-tight leggings, but I think adding a military inspired jacket adds a little more structure to the outfit. For this look, I would roll up the sleeves of the sweater with the jacket for a more relaxed, yet chic look. I also included a pair of beige lace-up boots and some cream tube socks that can peep out over the boots.  A pair of aviators and slouchy beanie are the perfect way to finish the look, adding to the comfy vibe, but still making yourself appear put together.

Colorful:

I think colorful, printed leggings are the most fun, but can be the more difficult to style. I think the more feminine you make them, the more easy they are to put together.

185351340885872377_9iIWQuIs_c

I absolutely love these leggings from the print to the mix of color. For this look, I went with a simple white tank and topped it off with a sleek black blazer for a more polished look. Leggings can come across as casual and sloppy if not styled the right way so I always like to bring in a nice jacket or shoes or bag. For this look, I brought in all 3. If the boots are too much, try a simple pair of black ballet flats. I chose very feminine accessories and I think a fun hairstyle like a fishtail braid would be a great way to add your own personality.

I hope you liked these 3 outfits I styled and don’t be afraid to try out some looks with patterned leggings!

XO Alexa

Leave a Reply

