Military Fashion!

I recently put up a post about winter fashion trends that I am so in love with this year, but one in particular is my absolute favorite and I wanted to dedicate an entire post to this particular trend so I can share with you a variety of outfits and how you can style it depending on YOU!

My favorite trend right now is military fashion. I love all of the structured jackets, camouflage and cargo. I think this trend is so versatile even though it may not seem like it. If you’re not big into the whole military style, please keep reading. You never know what may inspire you 😉

Girly:

I love when different pieces of an outfit contradict each other, which is why I really like to “girlify” my military pieces and it is super simple. Here is my advice:

  1. Pick a piece from your wardrobe that you really love i.e. a dress, a blouse, a skirt, ballet flats, heels, etc. You’re a girly girl so pick the piece that best exemplifies that style.
  2. Depending on what piece you have picked, you are going to need to find a separate piece that is military chic i.e. jacket, pants, bag, shoes, etc.
  3. Off-set the structure of the military piece with fun accessories, “pretty” makeup (if you know what I mean), and any other aspects of your outfit that are going to soften the more masculine military piece.

Here is my inspiration to you:

Here I chose a very feminine, flirty dress with a full skirt and something that is a little more playful. I paired the dress with a very structured, yet form-fitting military inspired jacket that I think will give great shape to the outfit. I chose some lace-up booties to add some more military boot-style flare and a military inspired hand bag in a soft nude. I added a lot of very dainty, elegant accessories that make this outfit even more girly. So, looking at this outfit at first glance, the military inspiration is not overwhelming and just helps to accentuate the overall look of the outfit as well as keeping the dress current and on trend.

Sporty/casual:

Dressing down military-inspired clothing pieces doesn’t mean you still can’t be stylish. I think this is perfect for those weekends out and about, hanging out with friends, or a casual movie date with your significant other. The key is finding the right pieces that are going to compliment your military garb. For example, if you decide to wear a camo top or a structured jacket, make sure you have a very well-fitted pair of jeans that work for your body. Investing in a good pair of jeans is a fashion must-have all around and they are really going to help make your more dressed down days a lot more stylish 🙂 Here is my advice:

  1. Pick your favorite pair of jeans/pants that are well-fitted and flatter your body.
  2. Stay comfortable. If you don’t wear chiffon or satin, then don’t! Stick to cotton and what makes you feel good.
  3. Layer! I think for a more casual look, layering is key. Putting pieces together and overlapping textures and prints not only has a practical use (winter months are chilly), but also gives your outfit contrast and depth. Because you are keeping it pretty simple, playing around with layers can really add some drama.
  4. Choose a few accessories and keep them basic. You can never go wrong with a pair of studs or hoops and a nice watch is going to make the outfit look more polished.

Here is my inspiration to you:

This is such a fun outfit and super comfy. I chose a fitted pair of flared, dark wash jeans and paired them with a camo button-up with stud and zipper detailing. These little details are really going to help your outfit look more fashion forward (sometimes buying studding clothing can be expensive so order some studs off of ebay.com or amazon.com and stud your own blouse). I have added a cream sweater to layer over the blouse for those colder days and to soften the look. Pull the collar through the sweater and let the shirt tails hang out! To compliment the look I chose a pair of glitzy Converse, some gold hoops and “staple” jewelry pieces (if you have a watch you always like to wear or a wrap bracelet, etc., add it for a personal touch). I think loose, tousled waves are way to go and add a more “care-free” vibe to the overall look.

Edgy:

I think this is by far the easiest look to pull together because military fashion is very structured, combines many different textures, and sticks to very basic colors (obviously). When putting a more edgy outfit together, go relatively basic with one piece that really stands out. Here is my advice:

  1. Choose one piece that is going to be the center of attention and heighten the drama FIRST. This could be leather pants, an animal print blouse, or some spiked heels.
  2. Add basics to the outfit that are going to compliment your dramatic piece. This is where you can get creative and choose your military items of choice. Maybe it’s a basic pair of cargo pants, an army green tee or bag, or even a black jacket with shoulder boards.
  3. Accessorize! Add a studded leather cuff or a geometric necklace or a Betsey Johnson-esque bag. Accessories are a great way to show your personality as well as add some color. Edgy doesn’t mean black.

Here is my inspiration to you:

For this outfit, my main attraction are, of  course, a great pair of skinny leather pants. I paired them with a neutral white blouse (a basic) that compliments the pants and provides a good layer for the vest. I LOVE this vest. I think this is such a great way to add some military style to your look, without overcrowding the outfit. I also added a belt to cinch the waist and give more shape. I had to go with a pair of combat boots and I chose a structured leather army green handbag with gold hardware. I chose a statement necklace to add a more feminine and fashion-forward touch as well as a cross ring, watch and nude stacking bracelets. For this look, pull your hair back out of your face into a relaxed ponytail and let your outfit do the talking. For makeup, I think a wine/red lip with a creamy eye OR a dark, charcoal grey smokey eye with bare lips.

Fashionista/ Diva:

This is by far the most dramatic look of the bunch. This is the woman who is always on trend, knows what’s hott (and what’s not), isn’t afraid to try something new, and walks with her head held high no matter what she is wearing. I love this look because it is so fun to put together and there is no holding back. I also love the fact that even though this woman is an all out diva, she can still pull off the military trend with style. Here is my advice:

  1. Don’t hold back! That doesn’t mean go crazy overboard, but sometimes less isn’t always more. If you like accessories, then pile them on. If you like glitter or sparkle or shine, then make your outfit sparkle!
  2. Make a statement. Don’t follow what other women are wearing. Walk into the room like you own the place and don’t let the gasps hold you back. Whether it’s showing some skin or a pair of Gaga-like heels, go for it.
  3. Find military apparel that is very strong and I’m not talking about the man you fantasize about wearing it. When it comes to structure, go all out. I think a really firm, tight, and maybe even “harsh” piece is super sexy.

Here is my inspiration to you:

I absolutely love this outfit! Whether it is a night out on the town or an everyday look at the office, you are for sure going to turn heads. I went with a solid black bralet to show some skin as well as some capri cargo pants that are a little more loose fitting to off set the bralet. I also went with a very structure white jacket with large brass buttons to pull the outfit together. I chose a pair of suede booties and really feminine accessories that aren’t going to take away from the rest of the outfit. I chose an army green, leather clutch that is extremely military chic and to top it all off, a sock bun. Women in the military are required to keep their hair above the shoulders in a bun, so I thought this was a great way to showcase a military hairstyle as well as showcase a very trendy bun.

XO Alexa

Leave a Reply

