Fav of the Day! 9/19/12

Happy Wednesday! The week is already halfway through and I hope everyone is staying busy at work or at school or whatever you may be doing 🙂 My favorite for today is something that I cannot wait to rock in the coming months!

Red wine lips! The moment I saw J Lo wearing a beautiful burgundy lip I fell in love.

They are absolutely gorgeous and they are going to look amazing in the fall. My favorite is a matte lip because it is so daring and bold and doesn’t need a sheen to look amazing.

It’s amazing how something as simple as a lip color can really take your whole look to a different place. Camilla Belle looks absolutely stunning and I think with such a neutral outfit and a nude eye, the lip stands out and looks amazing.

When going for a really dramatic lip, I would suggest toning down the eyes. Just like when you wear a super dark smokey eye, I always do a nude lip so the same applies here. I would go with just a little bit of crease color to accentuate the shape of your eye or just a nice shimmery nude all over the lid. That way your lips can take center stage.

Not digging the vampy style? Try a stain instead. This is going to give your lips a just the right amount of color without going too crazy.

Here are my recommendations:

Lipsticks (I chose MAC and Revlon because those are my favorite lip products)

  • MAC “Hang up” cremesheen
  • MAC “Cyber” satin
  • MAC “Rebel”
  • Revlon “Mink”
  • Revlon “Berry haute”

Lip stains:

  • Revlon just bitten kissable balm stain “Crush”
  • Revlon just bitten kissable balm stain “Adore”
  • Tarte lipsurgence lip tint “Deep berry”
  • Clinique chubby stick “Richer raisin”
  • Clinique chubby stick “Graped up”

These are just some of my favorites. If you have any lip products in a berry/wine/burgundy color that you love, please COMMENT!

XO Alexa

P.S. a new video is going to be uploaded today so keep an eye out…you’re going to love it!

 

Leave a Reply

