*July Favorites!*

http://dailyfashionista.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/summer-beauty.jpg

July is already over, 😦 but I have quite a few favorites that I want to share with you that I have been using and loving throughout this month.

Garnier Fructis dryness reversal treatment (deep conditioner)

I originally bought this because I had a coupon and I said to myself “what the heck” so I went ahead and bought it even though I already had a pretty good conditioner. I am so glad I did! This is amazing. This is a deep conditioner that you leave on for 3-5 minutes (duration of your shower) and has olive oil, avocado oil, and shea oil, which are all great for your hair. My hair is so soft and smooth, even when I use heat on it. This has been so great for the summer because I have been at the pool and beach, which dries out my hair so much. I definitely recommend this to everyone and it is extremely affordable.

L’Oreal anti-dull skin primer

This was in a haul I did this month and the only reason I bought it was because it was super cheap and I was curious. This primer is pink, which I was a little nervous about. The pink is supposed to cancel out any blue/grey tones in your skin, thus making it appear more bright and radiant. I can definitely tell the difference. I love the conistancy (medium thick) and I love the way it looks underneath my foundation. It is a little pricey for drugstore ($12), but if you are looking for a great primer that is going to brighten up your complexion, this is a winner.

L’Oreal true match foundation

I have heard so many great things about this foundation so I had to try it and it has exceeded all expectations. This is such a great foundation for any occasion. You can put on one layer for everyday use that is going to give you a more sheer, natural look or you can build up the coverage with multiple layers for a more polished, flawless look. I love that there are 24 shades to choose from as well. I definitely like to set it with a powder because it tends to be shiny on my skin, but if you have dry skin, this may be unnecessary. The only downside to this product is it doesn’t have a pump so you have to dump it on your hand, but it is worth it.

*I am in the shade “Sun beige.” I also have the pressed powder and is great for days when you will be “glistening” a little more than usual or if you have oil skin:)

Simple cleansing facial wipes

Again, I had a coupon for these so I thought I would give them a go and they work really well. These makeup removing/cleansing wipes removed all of my waterproof mascara, which is a winner in my book. I have such a hard time finding wipes that will remove my black makeup and these are perfect. I also used these when I didn’t have time to wash my face (after the pool or beach), but I wanted to cleanse my skin, so I carried this in my beach/pool bag and they left my skin feeling like I had just used my cleanser.

L’Oreal voluminous mascara in “carbon black” (waterproof)

This is by far my favorite mascara. This is the most deep black mascara I have found that makes my lashes look fuller and longer. I absolutely love this product!

Milani blush in “Luminoso”

This was recommended to me by a reader and I am so glad I bought it. This is the most beautiful coral/peach shade and has been my go-to summer blush. I love that it has a subtle hint of shimmer and it gives me the perfect summer glow. Even on days when I didn’t wear any makeup, I swept this across my cheeks just for a touch of color and it was beautiful.

NYC blush in “Riverside rose”

This blush is very different than the Milani blush and that is why I love it. This is a very soft, matte, rosy pink color and this is perfect for days when I wanted to wear blush and have some color on my face, but I wanted it to look as natural as possible. This shade is the color of my cheeks when I pinch them, which is what I love.

Maybelline instant age rewind concealer  in “Light”

*Insider’s beauty award winner

This is an amazing under eye concealer. I have heard so many rave reviews about this product from beauty gurus and they were absolutely right. This product is interesting because it comes with a fuzzy ball tip that you can roll under your eyes and it is super easy. I wouldn’t use this as a concealer for the rest of your face because that is not what this product is designed for. I took this to the beach yesterday and after we had been out in the sun and we went to eat lunch, I went in the bathroom and rolled it under my eyes, patted it in and I looked fresh and awake. This really makes my eyes look more bright and open. There is also a pink-tinted version that is supposed to highlight under your eyes as well (same concept as the pink primer) so if you have tried it, let me know what you think!

Maybelline 24-hour color tattoos

These are an obvious because I talk about these all the time. I now have 6 of the 10 shades (tough as taupe, bad to the bronze, too cool, bold gold, edgy emerald, audacious asphalt) and I am obsessed. I have worn these everyday since I started buying them and they are my GO-TO eye shadows. These are absolutely incredible and if you have not tried them, you must!

Bare Escentuals buxom lip gloss in “Sugar”

This lip gloss came in my July Myglam bag and I wear it every day. This is a lip plumping gloss so it tingles when you put it on your lips. The tingling actually makes my lips swollen (kind of like when you eat spicy food) and I love the color and shine. I recommend this lip gloss to everyone if you are looking for a great lip product. It is a little more pricey, but well worth it.

Hair fertilizer

I have been using this for about 2 months now and I am LOVING it. I can definitely tell a difference in my hair, not only in lenght, but in shine. If you haven’t already, check out my post on how I use my hair fertilizer 🙂 https://alexachanbeauty.wordpress.com/2012/07/10/new-beauty-item-and-fav-of-the-day-71012/

Walmart  solid tank tops http://www.walmart.com/ip/OP-Juniors-Rib-Tank-2-Pack/19756912

These are kind of random, but I had to include them. I went grocery shopping at Walmart and I decided to check out the clothes because I never do and I know they always have great deals. I found a whole table filled with various colored tanks and they were only $3.88/each from the brand OP. I have been needing some solid tanks and these are so perfect. I think this summer’s trends have been so loud and bright and bold that solid, plain tank tops are the perfect way to compliment your outfits. I bought turquoise, pink, and white tanks and I wear them constantly. Even with a pair of jeans, these are definitely a summer staple.

Tilapia

I know this is totally random and has nothing to do with fashion or beauty, but I had to include this because this was a HUGE favorite for me this month. I love eating fish during the summer because it is light, super easy, and has essential fatty acids that are great for you skin and hair, especially after you have been out in the sun or in the water.

How I cook:

I take frozen tilapia (it holds better) and put it on a baking pan. I sprinkle some salt, pepper, and lemon juice over all the filets, flip, then repeat on the other side. I then bake them in the oven for about 15-20 minutes at 350 degrees or until golden brown. I will either serve them over brown rice; wild rice; or with corn tortillas topped with tomatoes, cilantro, and more lemon juice. Tilapia is a summer food staple in my house and I couldn’t leave it out of my favorites post 🙂

I hope this was helpful and inspired you to try some new products! Talk to you later 🙂

XO Alexa

Leave a Reply

