Fav of the Day! 7/30/12

Good morning everyone! I hope you all had a great weekend and are up and ready for this week. I know I am! I have some great stuff coming this week (July favorites, Haul with my sister, and a how-to) so stay tuned!

Today’s favorite is something that I have been seeing a lot lately and I think they are so fun and a little risky…

http://ashleyudoh.blogspot.com

Bralets! Now don’t let the “bra” part throw you off. These are anything, but undergarments. I think these are such a fun way to play with colors and prints as well as show a little skin.

I absolute love these with maxi skirts (left and right photos). I think the coverage of a maxi skirt juxtaposes the “barely there” bralet.

I also love the colors and prints!

http://dana-reid.tumblr.com/

Since there isn’t a lot of material, I love that you can really make them pop and make them the statement piece of your outfit.

When wearing these, I think it is important to not overdo it. These are quite risque pieces and I think the rest of your outfit should compliment, not compete. Try pairing them with a solid pleated skirt or a pair of solid, loose-fitting pants so that the bralet is enhanced instead of overshadowed. You don’t want your outfit to look like a jumbled mess.

My absolute favorite bralet I have seen to date is this one with studded detail.

 

polyvore.com

I love the edginess of this and how “Gaga” it is. I think this is such a cool way edge up a baby pink pair of pants or a super girly skirt.

Here is how I would style it…

I toned down the metal and darkness of of the bralet with a bright, yet light maxi skirt and some nude heels. I also added a Chanel crossbody bag (a big bulky bag would only take away from the outfit) and gold bangles and earrings. I feel like I went with an “egyptian goddess” theme here 😉 I also went with a nude lip and cheeks, but a very heavy smokey eye. “Top” this off with a top knot and this is an outfit that will steal the show.

I hope you all liked this and like I said before, I have some great stuff coming up soon so keep reading and I will talk to you later!

XO Alexa

 

Leave a Reply

