*My haircare routine*

A lot of the time, our hair takes a backseat when it comes to TLC. We crimp it, straighten it, curl it, and everything else we can possible do to it because we love our hair! But we don’t give it the protection it needs to withstand all of the heat and tugging and pinning, etc.

I am going to share with you my haircare routine because I like to style my hair and get it colored and there is absolutely nothing wrong with that! We just need to pamper our hair every once in a while as well.

Shampoo/Conditioner:

I do not spend a lot on my shampoo. It is usually a drugstore brand and I typically try different brands every time I run out. I spend a little more on my conditioners because I think this is the most important for my hair and no matter how often I shampoo, I always condition.

I use the Pantene brand for “fine” hair. I use both the shampoo and conditioner, but I have recently been using the NUME hydro punch conditioner to see how I like it. When I am in the shower, I shampoo my hair first (if I am shampooing that day) and then I apply my conditioner. After I apply, I use a wide tooth comb and comb it through my hair. I leave my conditioner in for the entire duration of the shower to allow for the conditioner to really work through my hair. I also keep a clip in my shower so I can clip it up while I do the rest of my shower routine.

*I would spend more on conditioner, not shampoo

Leave in treatment:

I LOVE the RUSK deep shine leave in conditioning treatment. I have been using this forever and I have never found a leave-in as good as this one. I put this in my hair right after I get out of the shower and before I comb through my hair. I put about a dime sized amount and start at my ends and work my way up.

Another great product is Moroccan Oil. It is a more pricey, but this is also a great leave-in. It’s a little too oily for me, but if you tend to have dry hair, this is a great alternative!

After I put the deep shine in, I spray Garnier Fructis triple nutrient spray just to my ends. This spray is for dry and damaged hair and it leaves my ends feeling more full and thick.

*deep shine and spray can be purchased at drugstores. Moroccan oil can be purchased at beauty stores, such as Ulta.

Curl product:

This summer I don’t like to use a lot of heat on my hair and I have been wearing it natural most of the time. When I want my hair to embody its natural wave 🙂 I use Garnier Fructis curl scrunch gel in extra strong. This product was in my June favorites post and it is still a major favorite. After I get out of the shower, I spray the nutrient spray to my ends and then apply a dime sized amount of the curl scrunch gel to my hair and scrunch my hair using my hands. This gel doesn’t leave my hair sticky or crunchy or dry. When my hair dries, it doesn’t feel like I have any product in my hair. This is a really great and affordable gel for those of you who just want to give your hair a little help with its natural curl.

Styling:

When I want to curl, straighten, blow dry, etc. my hair, I always use a styling product/heat protectant. The one I am currently using is the Living Proof nourishing styling cream. This isn’t like a wax or putty, but more of a protectant against humidity and frizz and acts almost like a jacket against the environment. I put this on after my deep shine and spray on damp hair before I blow dry or style.

*This product retails for $26 (http://www.livingproof.com/buy/no-frizz-nourishing-styling-cream)

Mask:

This is definitely a no-brainer. I love my coconut oil mask and I do this about twice a week along along with my hair fertilizer. This leaves my hair feeling incredibly soft and I feel like it even adds a little bit of volume. If you haven’t already, read my post about my coconut oil mask: https://alexachanbeauty.wordpress.com/2012/06/28/easy-diy-hair-mask/

When I don’t wash my hair:

I do not wash my hair everyday. This helps to preserve my hair color and keeps my hair from being too dry. The longer, thicker, curlier, or more processed your hair is, the less you should shampoo it. The more you shampoo, oils from the scalp don’t travel down the hair shaft as quickly so the hair tends to be dry (Heather Woolery Lloyd, Director of ethnic skin care at U. of Miami).

So, to keep from being an oily mess at my scalp on the days I don’t shampoo, I use the John Frieda luxurious volume dry shampoo spray. I love this stuff because when my scalp is feeling really oily, I spray this right at the root and my hair is instantly more volumized and my scalp isn’t oily. I carry it in my purse so anytime I need an extra little kick throughout the day, I whip this out and spray my hair a few times. Dry shampoo is definitely worth a shot if you haven’t tried it yet. This is the only brand I have tried, but there are so many out there, drugstore and high end.

I hope this was helpful and if you have any hair tips, please let me know!

XO Alexa

Leave a Reply

