My skin care routine: night & day

Taking care of my skin is so important and cleansing and moisturizing is something I definitely have to be diligent about. I am going to share with you my skincare routine and what products I love the most when it comes to my skin!

Prevention!!!

This is the most important part for me when it comes to taking care of my skin. Even if I don’t have breakouts or acne or blemishes, it’s all about preventing them. I have a very strict and sometimes lengthy routine, but my skin has never looked better!

These are the products I use right when I wake up and right before I go to sleep and how I use them 🙂

MORNING:

1. Noxzema deep cleansing cream: This is the best cleanser I have ever used and I have definitely tried my share of brands (Clinique, Proactive, Cetaphil, Olay, etc.). This cleanser has eucalyptus oil, which gives it that minty tingly feeling on your skin. If I am in the shower, I will put it on first thing and leave it on my face for the duration of the shower to get a steam room effect. The steam from the shower opens the pores on my face allowing the Noxzema to get deep into my skin and remove all of the dirt. (When washing your face, always use warm water) Don’t forget your neck! The neck or declate area (neck extending into the chest area) is the first part of your upper body to show signs of aging so show this area some TLC! At the very end of the shower, I wash it off with hot water and my skin feels amazing. It has a cooling effect so it feels so refreshing. Another great thing about this product is the fact that is super affordable. I got mine at Target for around $4, but at Ulta, they are buy one get one %50 off (around $6 for 2). I have not tried the Noxzema moisturizer, but when I go get my cleanser I will pick some up and let you know how I like it.

2. Philosophy “take a deep breath” gel cream moisturizer: this is my favorite moisturizer for the morning. It is so refreshing and although it doesn’t have any kind of minty ingredients, it has an extremely cooling effect on my skin, which is why I love it right when I get up. The great thing about this product is it has coffee seed extract so it gives the needed caffeine to my skin so it looks more resilient and puffy free. It definitely gives me the pick-me-up I need in the morning. I use about a pea-size amount and put it all over my face and neck (a little goes a long way). The only downside to this product is that it doesn’t have an SPF, which I like to have in my daytime moisturizer. However, if I am wearing makeup that day, my foundation does have an SPF. If I’m not going to wear makeup, then I will apply a small amount of SPF 20 sunscreen to my face after moisturizing. Philosophy is a little more pricey ($34 for a full size jar at Sephora), but it is definitely worth it! I also have several other products from this brand and they never let me down. It’s a good idea to invest in a good cream that suits your skin needs. Like I said, it is all about prevention. You don’t want to have to pay for other products later to get rid of your blemishes if you don’t have to.

3. Garnier nutritioniste skin renew anti-dark circle roller: This is my newest find and I am so hooked! This is an under eye roller from the Skin Renew line of Garnier that I use right after I moisturize in the morning. As we all know, dark circles under our eyes are inevitable due to the slowing of micro-circulation causing the skin to thin and look more translucent.This roller helps to diminish these dark circles and is even tinted so it can also double as a light coverage concealer. The roller is a small metal ball, which makes the effect more cooling and helps relieve puffiness. This product also has caffeine in it, like the Philosophy moisturizer, which is why I love it for the morning. I want to look fresh and bright-eyed (literally) so I use this before putting makeup on and I keep it in my purse so I can use it throughout the day if I am looking tired or puffy. You can get this roller at any drugstore, beauty supply store, Target, Walmart, etc. It is around $12 depending on where you go.

After I have completed these three steps in the morning, I put on makeup and I am ready for the day. (I don’t always put on makeup, but on a normal workday I do)

NIGHTTIME:

1. Coconut oil:I know I have talked about this so much because I absolutely love this product. At nighttime, I use this to remove all of my eye makeup (especially if I am wearing waterproof mascara). I use this before anything else. I apply a small amount to each eye and rub in a circular motion with my fingers until I can see that all my makeup is loosened from my eyes and I can rinse. The oil is going to separate the makeup from your skin, just like oils remove makeup from your brushes (an earlier post). After this, I will either get in the shower and cleanse my face using Noxzema or I will just cleanse at the sink.

2. Olay active hydrating cream (original formula):This is my nighttime moisturizer and this is tried and true favorite. I have been using this since I was little and it works for me so I never changed. I love this cream because it is a little thicker than my daytime moisturizer. I like this because at night, my skin tends to get more oily while I sleep. I know that sounds backwards, but your skin actually produces more oils if it is lacking the oils it needs. It overcompensates for what it needs. Cool, right? So after I cleanse, I moisturize with this all over my face and neck. I have had this for about 5 months and I am only halfway through it so it lasts a while. This is also a more affordable product that Olay carries, which is great! (I think mine was around $6-$8 at Target)

I don’t have a very lengthy nighttime routine, but I do have some products that I do 2-3 times a week in addition to the oil, cleanser, and moisturizer mentioned above.

3. Clean & Clear persa-gel: I use this only when I do get a blemish here and there. I put a very small amount of this on the problem area at night and sleep with overnight and then clean it off in the morning (it dries white so I wouldn’t do this in the morning unless you are going to be around the house). The active ingredient in this product that helps dry out the problem area is benzoyl peroxide so any spot treatment product with that ingredient will work as well. This is just the one that I use. Also, any product with witch hazel, an all natural astringent, will work as well.

4. Equate apricot scrub: I only use scrubs 2-3 times a week because the exfoliation tends to dry out my skin and can be harsh if I use it too many times. I love this one from Equate, which is a more affordable dupe for St.Ives apricot scrub. I love how rough the scrub is because it really sloughs off all of the dead skin and gets all of the dirt from that day out of my pores and leaves my face feeling really fresh and clean. Just like I would with the Noxzema, I do this right after the coconut oil and before my mask (which I will explain next). You can purchase this at any drugstore or Target or Walmart.

5. Queen Helene mint julep mask: This is by far my favorite mask. I only use this mask 2-3 times a week because I don’t want it to dry out my skin and I always use it right after my scrub because the scrub “roughs” up my pores so when I apply the mask, it can really get in there and suck everything out (that sounds so gross). I love the minty feeling of this mask and I love the cooling sensation when I take it off. I leave it on until I can see that the mask has sunken into my pores (you can actually see the pores all over your face) and then I rinse it off with warm water. I then apply my Olay nighttime moisturizer (this is KEY!) so my face doesn’t dry out. You can purchase this at any drugstore and it is super affordable!

This is my skin care routine and based on your skin’s needs, the products are going to differ. If you have more dry skin or oily skin or even combination, you need to choose the best products that aren’t going to work against your skin. Like I said before, the key is to prevent breakouts from happening. This routine is pretty lengthy and can be a nuisance, but it is best for the long run.

Some products, like the moisturizers and even the cleansers, might be a little more pricey, but if it works for your skin then I think it is worth the small investment. However; like I have shown above, you can also get great products for really great prices and they work just as well as high end products.

I really hope this was helpful and comment below if you would like me to do more posts like this!

XO Alexa

Leave a Reply

