New beauty item and Fav of the Day! 7/10/12

Yesterday I posted a mystery beauty item that I am so incredibly excited about and this is more of a monthly favorite because I have been using it for about a month, but I felt like I needed to tell you about it now. This is such an awesome product and I heard about it from Rachel Talbott, a beauty vlogger and blogger and I am so glad I tried it.

The mystery beauty item is…

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Hair Fertilizer! I was extremely skeptical when I first heard about it and I thought the good reviews were more of a placebo effect, but this actually works. It stimulates the scalp because it has nettle, horsetail, and paprika for better hair growth.

-Nettles: traditionally, the branches of this plant were used to treat arthritis in the joints because they stimulated the adrenal glands, glands responsible for producing hormones.

-Horsetail: a confirmed antioxidant

-Paprika: a spice high in antioxidants, such as vitamin c, which promotes and maintains skin and hair growth

Not only does your hair increase in length, but also in softness. This is completely organic and most of the ingredients are herbal extracts and oils like coconut oil.  It also has a really nice smell, which I wasn’t expecting. It has a vanilla/cake batter type smell which I love because I can leave it in all day or all night and the smell doesn’t bother me. I actually went to the grocery store the other day with it in (I forgot) and Chris commented on how good my hair smelled 😉 It also has a very creamy light texture, which is nice because it is easy to apply and it’s not super oily or sticky.

How to use:

The directions say to apply a small amount to the scalp and massage into you hair, like you would a shampoo. I actually apply more than a small amount (about the amount of shampoo I apply to my hair). I then comb it through my hair from root to end and then twist my hair in a knot and leave it in for as long as I want. You can sleep in it or just leave in in for a few hours or whatever amount of time you have. Just like the coconut oil, you need to thoroughly wash it out otherwise it will leave your scalp really oily.

I have only been using this product a little less than a month and I have only scratched the surface. A little goes a long way and this is so great because it only costs $7.99 at drugstores! I got mine at Walgreen’s, but I have seen them at Rite Aid and CVS. Target only sells it online. There is a serum version that is $12 and I think it’s because it is more concentrated. I just got the cream so I could do a mask.

I also use this with my coconut oil hair mask. I put this in my roots and then I apply coconut oil to the rest of my hair (midway of head to the ends) and leave both in overnight. I posted a tutorial on how to do a coconut hair mask and I will link it here: https://alexachanbeauty.wordpress.com/2012/06/28/easy-diy-hair-mask/

This brand also has a shampoo and hair mayonnaisse, neither of which I have tried, but the product recommends it. If you do, let me know how it works!

I hope you enjoyed this new find and if you try it,  let me know how it works out for you!

Alexa

2 thoughts on “New beauty item and Fav of the Day! 7/10/12

Leave a Reply

