Easy DIY Hair Mask

Say “so long” to dry, tangled, frizzy hair!! I have found a cure!  Just kidding. This has actually been a recent trend and I am so excited to share it with you!!!

The miracle cream is…. COCONUT OIL

Yes, you can buy hair masks at the store, but the cost adds up and it usually only lasts you one time. I am in love with coconut oil and it has done wonders with my hair 🙂 I purchased mine at Vitamin Shoppe ($9.99), but you can pretty much get it anywhere. I am going to walk you through, step by step, how to use this as a hair mask and the benefits that come from doing so. Let’s get started…

You want to start with wet hair. It’s easier to manage and easier to put the product into.

This is what it looks like when you open the lid. This is the product in solid form, but that is not always the case. It is anoil so it does melt if it gets too hot. I store mine under the sink and it does fine, but if it is a little warm in your house, I would keep it in the fridge.

Put a good sized portion of the coco oil into your hand.

As you can see, it is already melting in my hand so we need to work fast! Apply this amount (there is no specific amount so use as much or as little as you want) from the middle of your hair to the ends, concentrating on the ends. The ends of your hair are usually the most damaged and the most dry so lather ’em up! Your roots are already oily right at the scalp of your head so you don’t have to put any there, especially if you have oily skin or your hair tends to me oily-er.

Work the oil in a downwards motion and make sure not miss any spots. I really like to soak mine so feel free to get a little crazy 😉

Once your hair is completely covered, twist your hair into a bun/knot in the middle of your head. This is going to lock in the moisture.

To further lock in the moisture (and the heat), put on a shower cap or wrap your head in a towel. Your own body heat is going to help the oil better reach your hair follicle, the skin that produces your hair. It is up to you how long you want to leave the oil in. You can leave it in for 30 minutes or you can leave it in over night. I like to leave mine in over night to get the most use of the product.If you do decide to sleep in it, make sure you wear a shower cap and also put a towel on your pillow just in case the cap falls off.

I know I look so attractive 😉

After you are done (however much time that may be), rinse your hair as well asCONDITION!!! Make sure you get all of the oil out of your hair and condition really well. You do not need to shampoo unless you haven’t shampooed in a while and you need to. I only shampoo my hair every other day.

Now your hair should be perfect and shiny and silky!! Haha just kidding, but if you continue to do this routine 2-3 times a week, you are going to have much smoother, softer, healthier hair.

Coconut oil is also great for:

  • removing eye makeup (even waterproof mascara!)
  • lip balm
  • dry skin moisturizer (put a pea size on dry areas, such as elbows, knees, and feet)

I hope this helped and let me know what you think!

Alexa

2 thoughts on “Easy DIY Hair Mask

  1. I just join your blog and love it got great ideas. Thank you so much, love the you put humor in it.. Lovely

Leave a Reply

