Building the perfect foundation

Foundation…it can be daunting at times. What color is right for me? What kind of texture is good for my type of skin? How should I apply it? These are questions that go through my mind when trying to find the perfect foundation for my skin. Is there even a “perfect” match? Well, I have come very close with my latest foundation find at Ulta and I hope this guide helps decide which is right for you!

My foundation selection

My current foundation

Above are the foundations that I currently have in my house. I have a few different ones because they all have a different purpose and all of them are drugstore. I find that foundations have such a short shelf life (try saying that 5 times) so I can’t stomach buying a $40 foundation, but that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t. There are some great higher end foundations out there. I have various types and brands because depending on your environment and weather (especially throughout the seasons) and event you are at, determines what kind of foundation you will want to use.

My everyday foundation is the ULTA Extreme Wear Matte Finish Mousse Foundation in the shade “Buff Beige.” That is a mouthful. This is such a great foundation just for my everyday use around the house, to the grocery store, etc. Mousse foundations have gained a lot of popularity in recent months and I never tried one before. So when I went to ULTA, I found this one and it looked interesting so I thought I would try it. Plus, it was only $5!!

I apply this foundation with a MAC 190 foundation brush, which I find is easiest considering the packaging and consistency of the product (I clean before I re-use each time). I love it because it only takes a little bit to cover my face and it dries with a matte, powder finish. It is so light and I don’t feel like I have foundation caked on my face. It goes on very smooth and I am so excited I have found such an amazing product. I have oily skin so this works for me because it has such a dry finish. Foundation all depends on what type of skin you have. This foundation works for me, but could be disastrous for someone else.

My other foundations

I also have several other foundations I use for different purposes. If I am going to be photographed or in a video, I like to wear my Revlon PhotoReady foundation. This is a full coverage foundation and is a lot more dense on my face which makes it great for photo and video when I want my skin to look flawless. I only where this every once in a while because it is so heavy. When I go to the beach or to the pool and I want just a little bit of coverage to even out my skin tone, I like to use e.l.f. tinted moisturizer (only $3) or Almay’s smart shade foundation. I love tinted moisturizers because they are hydrating and they have higher SPF (e.l.f. has SPF 20). Almay’s smart shade foundation is interesting because it comes out of the tube white like a lotion, but then it transforms to your skin’s tone as you apply it to your face. This one, like the tinted moisturizer, is light  and just gives me a little bit more evenness for when I am at the beach or laying out by the pool or even just hanging out outside. An alternative to a tinted moisturizer is to mix your everyday foundation with your moisturizer and you should get the same effect. Another foundation I really like is the Maybelline Fit Me foundation. I found this at Target and it was only $5 so I decided to try it and I really like it. It’s sheer (light to medium coverage) which means my natural complexion and fr,eckles show through which I really like. This is different from the tinted moisturizer because it has more coverage and less SPF so I would wear this foundation for daily use as well. I go back and forth between my Maybelline and ULTA foundations on a day-to-day basis. I also have Covergirl Trublend foundation, which I got several months ago and it’s too light for my skin and I do not like the coverage at all. It’s very watery and slides right off of my face because I get oily throughout the day.

So those are my go-to foundations. Like I said, everyone is different and foundations are going to be different for everyone as well. Another foundation that just came out is the Revlon whipped foundation, which I really want to try, but it’s $13 so I am going to wait until the price goes down or I want a new foundation to try.

This is a great video by Pixiwoo to determine your skin tone!

Application

Like I mentioned before, I like to apply my mousse foundation with a foundation brush, but this is not always the case. For my liquid foundations, I prefer to use the tools that I have readily accessible at all times: my hands. When you put your foundation on your fingers (from the bottle) and you rub it into your skin, the heat from your fingertips actually helps blend the foundation more evenly and you don’t get the streakiness of a foundation brush. Sometimes with thin liquid foundations, lines can form on your face from where the brush bristles missed parts of your skin. Also, cleaning your foundation brush can be a hassle because it is really important to at least spot clean them on a daily basis to decrease the risk of bacteria. Another way to apply is with a beauty blender sponge. These are dome shaped sponges that are used to PRESS the foundation into your skin. I say PRESS because you are literally pushing the foundation into your skin, not rubbing or painting like a brush. The sole purpose is to press, push and roll the foundation into your skin so that the most product is absorbed into your skin for the best results (no streaking and longer wear).

Two different sponge applicators

Again, this is all based on preference, but these are the different ways I find are the best ways to apply my foundation.

All in all, finding that one true love is going to take time and patience. Try to find out what kind of skin (oily, dry, combination) you have and what kind of skin tone (more green, red, blue, or yellow) and then it will be easier to find a shade to your liking. Drugstores are hard to pick foundations because you can’t test them, but most places will let you return your product if you don’t like it. ULTA allows you to try out their products at the store which is great to get a feel for consistency and tone. Just don’t stress. Who knows if there really is that perfect foundation out there for you. I am still looking for mine.

Alexa ❤

Featured foundations:

  • ULTA Extreme Wear Matte Finish Mousse: Buff Beige
  • Revlon PhotoReady: 010Caramel and 006 Medium Beige
  • Maybelline Fit me: 315 Soft Honey
  • Covergirl Trublend: 455
  • e.l.f. tinted moisturizer: 11004 Almond
  • Almay Smart Shade: 300 Medium
  • Donna Michelle: 1 Medium
Leave a Reply

